Ibrahim Magu and Police Promotions

It was strange to hear the news that Ibrahim Magu, erstwhile Chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, was one of the senior police officers being considered for promotion by the Police Service Commission, PSC. The main question that was being asked was ‘how can a man whose investigation was ongoing have his name on such a list?’

However, since stranger things have happened before, regarding promotion of government officials, even when they had cases hanging over their heads, it was a case of ‘let’s wait and see how this will play out.

Ibrahim Magu

Well, today, PSC came out with the list of very senior officers whose promotions have been confirmed by it. Magu’s name was not on the list.

Apart from confirming three Deputy Inspectors-General of Police, the Commission approved the promotion of 24 Commissioners of Police to the next rank of Assistant Inspectors-General of Police. The Commission also approved the promotion of 35 Deputy Commissioners of Police to the rank of Commissioners, 52 Assistant Commissioners of Police to Deputy Commissioners and 46 Chief Superintendents of Police to Assistant Commissioners.

It also considered and approved the promotion of 10 Superintendents of Police to Chief Superintendents, 17 Deputy Superintendents of Police to Superintendents, 139 Assistant Superintendents of Police, whose names were skipped during the last promotion, to Deputy Superintendents and nine Inspectors to Assistant Superintendents of Police.

A statement from the PSC, signed by its Head of Press and Public Relations, Mr. Ikechukwu Ani, said the promotions were the highpoints of the Commission’s 12th Plenary Meeting held on Tuesday and Wednesday. The meeting was presided over by Commission’s Chairman, Mr. Musiliu Smith, a retired Inspector General of Police.

According to the statement, the Commission declined the promotion of former EFCC Chairman Magu, a Commissioner of Police, to the rank of Assistant Inspector-General of Police and can only consider his promotion if it receives clearance from the office of the Attorney-General of the Federation and Minister of Justice and the Office of the Inspector-General of Police.

If you remember, a judicial commission of inquiry chaired by retired Justice Ayo Salami was set up by the President last year to investigate corruption allegations against Magu and the panel submitted its final report to President Muhammadu Buhari last November.

Magu was investigated following allegations made against him by the Attorney-General of the Federation and Minister of Justice and he was suspended from office while the investigation went on but he has since been replaced by a new substantive Chairman.

Some of the allegations against him included the sale of seized assets to his cronies, associates and friends, and his investigation covered his alleged mismanagement of recovered assets by the EFCC between May 2015 and May 2020.

Magu denied all the allegations.

IGP Usman Alkali Baba

Well, he did not make the cut for promotion to AIG. It would have taken the PSC some training and experience in gymnastics to explain away how it would have defended such a promotion, when the government’s decision on the Justice Ayo Salami report had not even been made public.

The three DIGs whose acting appointments were confirmed by the Commission are Tijanni Baba who replaced Rtd. DIG Aminchi Samaila Baraya for North East; Zanna Mohammed Ibrahim, who replaced Rtd. DIG Ibrahim Larmode, for the same North East and  DIG Moses Jitoboh who replaced Rtd. DIG Ogbizi Michael for South South.

The 24 Commissioners of Police promoted to Assistant Inspectors General of Police are:

  1. Usman Nagogo, currently CP Federal Intelligence Bureau, Force Headquarters Abuja
  2. Bala Ciroma, CP, FCT Command
  3. Ahmad Abdurrahman, NIPPS, Jos
  4. Adeleke Adeyinka Bode, CP, Kebbi State Command
  5. Muri Umar Musa, CP Kaduna State Command
  6. Lawal Jimeta Tanko,(former  COMPOL POPOL) and presently Commandant Police Academy Wudil Kano
  7. Dauda Abdulkarim, Commandant Police Traning College Kaduna
  8. Usman Alhassan Belele, CP Research and Development, Force Headquarters Abuja
  9. Adebola Emmanuel Longe, CP, Nasarawa State
  10. Musa Adze, CP Anti Fraud, FCIID, Abuja
  11. Philip Sule, former CP Ebonyi and currently CP SPU Force Headquarters, Abuja
  12. Usman Sule Gomna, CP Jigawa  State Command
  13. Adamu Usman, CP Niger State Command
  14. Daniel Sokari Pedro, Deputy Commandant, Police Academy Wudil, Kano
  15. Ahmed Mohammed Azare, CP Taraba Command
  16. Adamu Saleh Jajeri
  17. Maigana Alhaji Sani, CP FCIID Annex Kaduna
  18. Audu Adamu Madaki, former CP Welfare, presently CP, Benue State
  19. Ibrahim Sani Kaoje; NIPPS
  20. John Ogbonnaya Amadi, CP Airport Command
  21. Ede Ayuba Ekpeji, CP Kogi State Command
  22. Mohammed Bagega, Kwara State Command
  23. Bello Makwashi, CP Borno State Command
  24. Buba Sanusi, CP Katsina State Command

The 35 Deputy Commissioners of Police promoted to Commissioners include:

  1. Idowu Owohunwa, Principal Staff Officer to the Inspector General of Police
  2. Babaji Sunday, Deputy Commissioner, Operations, FCT Command
  3. Arungwa Udochukwu Nwazue, former  DCP, Operations, FCT and currently DCP, Ops Zone 9, Umuahia
  4. Ayuba Elkana, DCP Ops Zamfara State Command
  5. Mohammed Barde, DCP CID, Borno State Command
  6. Abdullahi Mudasiru, DCP Force Intelligence Annex Lagos
  7. Salisu Gedeji, DCP Training FHQs Abuja
  8. Umar Mohammed Na,Isa DCP Ops, Jigawa
  9. Musa Baba, DCP Armament, FHQs Abuja
  10. D Kromda; Chollong Gyang DCP, CID Zamfara; and  Aliyu Tafida
  11. Abubakar Lawal
  12. Aliyu Haruna
  13. Alhassan Aminu
  14. Abdul Umar
  15. Vincent Amakiri
  16. Adewale Harry
  17. M. Williams
  18. Shettima Zanna
  19. Ebong Eribo, DCP Admin, Bayelsa State Command
  20. Adepoju Ilori, DCP Accounts and Budget, Force Headquarters
  21. Okon Okon, DCP, National Defence College, Abuja
  22. Echeng Echeng DCP Zone 13, Ukpo
  23. Sussan Horsfal, fomer DCP CID Airports Command and presently DCP CID, Akwa Ibom State Command
  24. Adeshina Morenkeji
  25. Augustine Arop, former DCP Admin, Akwa Ibom State Command and presently DCP CID, Osun State Command
  26. Bankole Lanre Sikiru, DCP Interpol Lagos, among others.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *